Seas of Ramion by Frank Hinks Review

Seas of Ramion

Seas of Ramion features 3 stories from the Ramion series featuring weird and wonderful characters that children will love

Seas of Ramion, by Frank Hinks, is a collection of three Ramion children’s fantasy adventure stories. They stories are suitable for children age 7 years +. I have previously read two books in the series, The Body Collector and Boris and the Dumb Skulls, and really enjoyed them both – they make good Halloween bedtime stories for when October comes around. So with my enjoyment of the previous books I was looking forward to reading this collection, especially as if features The Body Collector that I had already enjoyed.

It is a 240-page hardback book that just screams quality, not just because of the weight and the thickness of the paper but also because of the bright and bold colourful printing, a definite winner with me for a children’s book.

The stories from the Ramion series are based in the Kent village of Shoreham and the magical land of Ramion. Each story features many strange and magical delights that will capture the imagination of the reader, young or old. The stories feature characters that will grab the attention of young readers with Boris the floating skull, Griselda the evil witch, Julius, Alexander & Benjamin (3 brothers looking for adventures) and a supporting cast of dim dwarves, mummies, vampires, ghosts and more.

Seas of Ramion is made up of three stories: The Kingdom of the Deep, The Blizzard Wizard and The Body Collector.

The Kingdom of the Deep sees Griselda the evil witch and her floating skull Boris go on holiday to her cousin’s castle (instead of the south of France as Boris suggested), only to find that she has turned it into a holiday let. Julius, Alexander & Benjamin along with their mum and dad have rented the castle for their holiday but without Snuggle, the boy’s magic cat who protects them from danger. Griselda has promised not to eat the boys while they are staying in the castle but finds a way to banish them to the Kingdom of the Deep. Now the boys are on their own adventure and must help a mermaid Queen get her tail back, but will Griselda now get her wish and finally be able to eat the boy’s?

The next story is The Blizzard Wizard. The Blizzard Wizard tricks Cloud 9 into freeing him from prison who then releases a storm over the Land of Ramion. The 3 brothers must find ingredients for Earth, Wind, Fire and Water to send The Blizzard Wizard back to prison and return Ramion to its former self.

The third and final story is The Body Collector and tells the tale of Boris the Floating Skull who is bought by Griselda, but he has a big flaw; he is quite happy to scare people but cannot fry them as Griselda would like. All he wants is his body back and he longs to dance.

This collection of stories are fantastic tales that children will just love. With all sorts of weird and wonderful characters and the three adventurous boys (protected by their magical cat), the magical Land of Ramion has something that every child will enjoy. The book is also beautifully illustrated with bright vivid colours which really help readers visualise what is happening within the story.

The stories are pure fantasy and magical mixed with a bit of comic horror and humour. They are very inventive and unique, expanding a child’s imagination.

If you haven’t read any of the Ramion series before then I recommend starting with this. Not only do you get 3 stories from the Ramion series bound in a quality hardcover book, but it is excellent value for money.

Rating: 5/5

RRP: £16.99 (hardcover)

Available to buy from Amazon here.

DISCLOSURE: I was provided with a free copy of this book for the purposes of writing a honest and impartial review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. This review uses an affiliate link which I may receive a small commission from if you purchase through the link.

Click here to read more reviews of books by Frank Hinks