John Grisham

John Grisham
John Grisham, photograph by Carol Harrison
This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license.

John Grisham, born in February 1955 in Jonesboro, Arkansas, is an American novelist, lawyer and former member of the 7th district of the Mississippi House of Representatives. He is best known for his legal thrillers, several of which have been turned into feature films (The Firm and The Pelican Brief for example), but he also writes legal thrillers for children with his Theodore Boone series. His 40+ books have sold in excess of 300 million copies worldwide.

Grisham is a two-time winner of the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction and was honoured with the Library of Congress Creative Achievement Award for Fiction.

He practised criminal law for about a decade and served in the Mississippi House of Representatives from 1983 to 1990. He is also a member of the board of directors of the Innocence Project, which campaigns to free and exonerate unjustly convicted people on the basis of DNA evidence.

Grisham resides in central Virginia.

For more information about John Grisham and his books, visit

Books in order:

Jake Brigance Series
A Time to Kill (1989)
Sycamore Row (2013)
A Time for Mercy (2020)
Homecoming – a novella in Sparring Partners (2022)

Theodore Boone Series (Young Adult Novels)
Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer (2010)
The Abduction (2011)
The Accused (2012)
The Activist (2013)
The Fugitive (2015)
The Scandal (2016)
The Accomplice (2019)

Camino Island Series
Camino Island (2017)
Camino Winds (2020)

Rogue Lawyer Series
Rogue Lawyer (2015)
Partners (2016)

The Whistler Series
Witness to a Trial (2016)
The Whistler (2016)
The Judge’s List (2021)

Standalone Novels
The Firm (1991)
The Pelican Brief (1992)
The Client (1993)
The Chamber (1994)
The Rainmaker (1995)
The Runaway Jury (1996)
The Partner (1997)
The Street Lawyer (1998)
The Testament (1999)
The Brethren (2000)
A Painted House (2001)
Skipping Christmas (2001)
The Summons (2002)
The King of Torts (2003)
Bleachers (2003)
The Last Juror (2004)
The Broker (2005)
Playing for Pizza (2007)
The Appeal (2008)
The Associate (2009)
The Confession (2010)
The Litigators (2011)
Calico Joe (2012)
The Racketeer (2012)
Gray Mountain (2014)
The Rooster Bar (2017)
The Reckoning (2018)
The Guardians (2019)
Sooley (2021)
The Boys from Biloxi (2022)

Click here to read our reviews of books by John Grisham