Chris Carter

Chris Carter

Bestselling crime author Chris Carter was born in July 1965 in Brasilia, Brazil where he lived until graduating high school. After high school he moved to the USA where he studied psychology with specialisation in criminal behaviour at the University of Michigan. During his university years he held a variety of odd jobs, ranging from flipping burgers to being part of an all-male exotic dancing group.

After graduating from university, he worked as a criminal psychologist for several years before moving to Los Angeles, where he swapped the suits and briefcases for ripped jeans, bandanas and an electric guitar. After a spell playing for several well-known glam rock bands he moved to London, where he was fortunate enough to have played for a number of famous artists. He toured the world several times as a professional musician before giving up the life of a touring musician to become a full-time crime author.

He is now the very successful author of 12 books in the Robert Hunter series including The Crucifix Killer, Gallery of the Dead and Genesis, featuring Robert Hunter – a Criminal Behaviour Psychologist turned Detective for the Ultra-Violent Crime Division of the Los Angeles Robbery Homicide Division.

Chris Carter now lives in London.

For more information about Chris Carter and his books, visit

Books in order:

Robert Hunter Series
The Crucifix Killer (2009)
The Executioner (2010)
The Night Stalker (2011)
The Death Sculptor (2012)
The Hunter (2013)
One by One (2013)
An Evil Mind (2014)
I Am Death (2015)
The Caller (2017)
The Gallery of the Dead (2018)
Hunting Evil (2019)
Written in Blood (2020)
Genesis (2022)

Click here to read our reviews of books by Chris Carter