M. W. Craven

M W Craven

Award-winning author M. W. Craven was born in 1968 in the northwest of England in Carlisle, Cumbria but grew up in Newcastle. At the tender age of sixteen he left home to join the British army where he served for ten years. After leaving the army he completed a degree in social work (specialising in criminology, psychology, and substance misuse) and took up a role as a probation officer in Cumbria, where he reached the rank of assistant chief officer before giving it up, accepting redundancy, to become a full-time crime author of the Washington Poe series and the DI Avison Fluke series.

The Puppet Show, the first book in his Cumbria-set Washington Poe series, was published by Little, Brown in 2018 and went on to win the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger in 2019. It has now been translated into twenty-five languages. It was followed by Black Summer, The Curator, Dead Ground and then The Botanist.

M. W. Craven lives in Carlisle with his wife, Joanne, and his springer spaniel, Bracken.

For more information about M. W. Craven and his books, visit www.mwcraven.com.

Books in order:

Avison Fluke Series
Born in a Burial Gown (2015)
Body Breaker (2017)

Washington Poe Series
The Puppet Show (2018)
Black Summer (2019)
The Curator (2020)
Dead Ground (2021)
The Botanist (2022)

Click here to read our reviews of books by M. W. Craven