The Granny by Brendan O’Carroll Review

Mrs Browne Trilogy, Book #3


The Granny is the third book in the Agnes Browne trilogy (Mrs Brown’s Boys) by Brendan O’Carroll.  This series of books is based on the character Agnes Browne, a struggling mum of 7 in Dublin, Ireland.

Continuing the series sees all the Browne children grown up and leaving home to go their own ways. Agnes Browne at 47 becomes a granny when Mark, her eldest, and Betty have their first child.

While some of her children have gone on to lead very successful lives, Cathy, her only daughter, is stuck in a bad marriage. Dermot is in prison for manslaughter, along with his best mate Buster. Trevor, the youngest, has moved across the water to England. Agnes is finding the break-up of the family very hard to deal with, but with Pierre, her lover, by her side she manages to cope.

Mark has become a successful managing director of his own company and Trevor has his own business illustrating children’s books that isn’t going too well until Dermot helps him out.

Overall, I didn’t find The Granny as funny as The Mammy and The Chisellers. That said, it is still packed with humour alongside the sadness and does keep you turning the page. It is very well written, and the characters have gotten stronger over the course of the trilogy, and you feel for every one of them.

The Granny is a great book about the Browne family spirit, how they overcome their obstacles as a family and despite what problems they have their spirit will never be broken.

A good read that while I didn’t think was as funny as the previous books, it is definitely worth reading.

All 3 books have been superbly written and are a great joy to read, filled with laughter and sadness.

Rating: 5/5

RRP: £8.99 (Paperback) / £5.99 (Kindle)

Available to buy from Amazon here.

DISCLOSURE: I was provided with a free copy of this book for the purposes of writing a honest and impartial review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. This review uses an affiliate link which I may receive a small commission from if you purchase through the link.

Click here to read more reviews of books by Brendan O’Carroll